Bad Feminist: Essays by Roxane Gay

bad-femDate: 1/10/17

Cost: $12.99 Kindle Edition 

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Goodreads Synopsis: In these funny and insightful essays, Roxane Gay takes us through the journey of her evolution as a woman of color while also taking readers on a ride through culture of the last few years and commenting on the state of feminism today. The portrait that emerges is not only one of an incredibly insightful woman continually growing to understand herself and our society, but also one of our culture.

Bad Feminist is a sharp, funny, and spot-on look at the ways in which the culture we consume becomes who we are, and an inspiring call-to-arms of all the ways we still need to do better.

Response:  Covering a wide variety of topics and facts that every person-not just women-should know, Roxane Gay inspires a new kind of feminism that isn’t defined by social norms.

I read this book by chance, because it was mentioned by Rebecca Campbell in her novel Rise Sister Rise

There were times that I struggled with this book. It’s like the best form of dark chocolate. So sweet, so rich, so full that you want to stop, but at the same time it just makes you desire more. This book was wordy, but in the best, most meaningful and important way.

Roxane Gay has a unique way of both criticizing and explaining her opinions while also complimenting simultaneously. Gay is made up of contradictions, which I so truly loved and felt was the most honest thing about reading a book like this.

roxane-gay

A plethora of writers I’ve experienced pretend to be more than human. They pretend they know everything beyond a doubt and there is no second guessing the words that they put to paper. Gay has a very different, sincere way of explaining that she is no expert, but simply someone who has an opinion that is worth sharing.

I also greatly appreciated her pop culture references and the amount of current news stories she put into this novel. It brings the reader into the story as we recall our own reactions to each event.

I gave this book 5 stars not because I felt it changed my life. I did not read it in a flurry or without pause.

I gave this book 5 stars because I think the words will stick with me for years to come. I think Roxane Gay has not only given me, as well as many other women, a good example but she has also made me long to be a better writer.

The whole time I sifted through these pages, my fingers itched to fly across a keyboard. There is a lot to be said about a writer who can inspire and draw forth more thought.

Leave a Reply

